2013 RCAS DSTEP Report Card PPT Presentation

Download Report

Transcript 2013 RCAS DSTEP Report Card PPT Presentation

2013 RCAS
Summative Assessment Report
Preliminary Dakota State Test
of Educational Progress (D-STEP)
August 6,2013
• South Dakota uses the Dakota State Test of
Educational Progress (D-STEP) as a summative
assessment to measure student achievement in
reading and math.
• The D-STEP is administered annually to RCAS
students in 3rd through 8th grade and 11th grade.
In addition, grades 5, 8 and 11 take a science
assessment, which at this time is not included in
the accountability process.
South Dakota Report Card
• The 2013 South Dakota Report Card
is available to view on the South
Dakota Department of Education
website http://doe.sd.gov/.
• The website shows summative
assessment D-STEP results for Rapid
City Area Schools from 2003-2013.
Summative Data
• The D-STEP results are just one indicator that
our district uses to measure student
• There are ongoing formative assessments
RCAS educators use to guide instruction
throughout the year.
Formative Data
• In 2012-2013 RCAS schools worked
diligently on developing common
formative assessments through the
district’s Professional Learning
Community process.
• The formative assessment data,
along with the summative
assessment data, will guide our
instruction to students throughout
the year.
Transitional Phase
• As a nation, we are in a transitional phase with
the assessment of K-12 student achievement.
• Work is being done on a national level to develop
research-based high quality, informative
measures of student achievement.
• Per a federal waiver, schools in South Dakota are
now given a School Performance Index (SPI) score
to indicate student achievement.
School Performance Index (SPI)
• Each elementary and middle school receives a
School Performance Index (SPI) score
comprised of student achievement (math and
reading) and attendance.
• The attendance score is 20 points possible,
and the student achievement score is 80
points possible (40 for reading and 40 for
math), with a total possible SPI score of 100
School Performance Index (SPI)
• High schools receive an SPI score comprised of
a student achievement score (50 possible
points—25 for reading and 25 for math), a
High School Completion score (25 possible
points), and a College and Career Readiness
score (25 possible points) for a total SPI score
of 100 points.
Gap and Non-Gap Groups
• In addition to the SPI score, information is
provided for each school based on what has been
termed Gap and Non-Gap groups.
• South Dakota’s Gap group consists of those groups
of students that have historically (over the last
three years) contributed to the achievement gap
based on state assessment data.
• Assessment data will be re-evaluated every six
years to determine the composition of the Gap
group, or will be re-run when Annual Measurable
Objectives (AMOs) are rebased.
Gap and Non-Gap Groups
• Currently, the Gap group contains students
who are part of one or more of the following
subgroups: American Indian or Alaskan
Native, Black/African American,
Hispanic/Latino, Limited English Proficient,
Students with Disabilities, and Economically
Disadvantaged students.
• Students not in any of these subgroups are
part of the Non-Gap group. The Non-Gap
group currently consists of the following
subgroups: White, Asian, Hawaiian/Pacific
Islander and Multi-Racial.
Annual Measurable Objective
• To hold schools accountable, South Dakota has
set unique school, district and state Annual
Measurable Objectives (AMOs) based on the goal
of reducing by half, the percentage of students in
the “all students” group and in each subgroup,
including the newly created Gap and Non-Gap
groups, who are not proficient within six years.
• AMOs are set separately for reading/language
arts and math. AMOs will be reset at the end of a
six year cycle.
State Standards
• The 2013 D-STEP was based on the
current South Dakota State
Standards. RCAS has been moving
toward teaching the Common Core
State Standards for Math and
English Language Arts.
New Assessments
• Per a waiver submitted to the US
DOE, the SD DOE has requested
that for the 2013-2014 school year,
SD districts administer the
Smarter Balanced field test
assessment instead of the D-STEP,
as the Smarter Balanced
assessment is aligned to the
Common Core State Standards in
Math and English Language Arts.
New Assessments
• South Dakota students and
teachers will have the 2013-2014
school year to familiarize
themselves with the new Smarter
Balanced assessment. Scores from
this assessment will not be used
for accountability purposes in
2014, but will offer valuable
information about student
preparedness and expectations.
On the D-STEP student achievement is measured for the following subgroups in
reading and math:
All Students
American Indian/Alaskan Native
Black/African American
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islander
Students with Disabilities
English Language Learners/Limited English Proficient
Economically Disadvantaged
Gap Group
Non-Gap Group
• There was an increase in the High School
Completer Rate from 2012 to 2013 for
nearly all subgroups.
• Central High School had an increased SPI
score (100 points possible) from 68.04
points in 2012 to 71.30 points in 2013.
• Stevens High School had an increased SPI
score (100 points possible) from 79.86
points in 2012 to 82.21 points in 2013.
Areas of Focus
• Subgroups that continue to be areas of district
focus are those of American Indian,
Economically Disadvantaged and Students
with Disabilities.
• The graduation rate, particularly for American
Indian students, continues to be a strong area
of focus.
Areas of Focus
• Based on the 2013 School Performance Index
(SPI) scores, SD schools were ranked as either
Exemplary, Status, Progressing, or Priority as
described in the SD Accountability Model. In
addition, there is a Focus School category that
applies only to schools that receive Title I
• All RCAS schools were noted as Progressing with
the exception of three Title I schools identified as
Focus Schools.
Areas of Focus
These three schools will continue to take part
in the South Dakota Leading Effectively
Achieving Progress (SD LEAP) program using
Indistar, a web-based planning tool for
implementing turnaround indicators for
continuous improvement.
Response to the Data
• RCAS will continue to use the
summative data from the D-STEP,
as well as ongoing formative
assessments throughout the year,
to guide and improve instruction.
Next Steps
Next steps will include a continuation of
district-wide Professional Learning
Communities focused on responding to the
four critical questions.
1. What do we want students to learn?
2. How will we know if students are
3. How will we respond when students do
not learn?
4. How will we enrich and extend the
learning for students who are proficient?