Lesson 5 Creating Tables - Carteret Community College
Download
Report
Transcript Lesson 5 Creating Tables - Carteret Community College
Lesson 5
Creating Tables
M
© 2008 The McGraw-Hill Companies, Inc. All rights reserved.
I
C
R
O
S
O
F
T
®
Objectives
•
•
•
•
•
•
Create a table
Draw a table
Modify a table structure
Align text and numbers
Enhance the table
Create a tabbed table
THE PROFESSIONAL APPROACH SERIES
© 2008 The McGraw-Hill Companies, Inc. All rights reserved.
Lesson 5
1
Creating Tables
M
Creating a Table
© 2008 The McGraw-Hill Companies, Inc. All rights reserved.
I
C
R
O
S
O
F
T
®
Insert a Table
• From the Insert tab, in the Tables
group, choose the Insert Table
button.
• Drag your pointer down and
across (such as down three
squares and across four
squares to define a 4x3 Table—
four columns by three rows).
THE PROFESSIONAL APPROACH SERIES
© 2008 The McGraw-Hill Companies, Inc. All rights reserved.
Navigate in a Table
• Click the cell with the
I-beam.
• Use the arrow keys
• Press <Tab> to move
forward or <Shift> +
<Tab> to move
backward
THE PROFESSIONAL APPROACH SERIES
© 2008 The McGraw-Hill Companies, Inc. All rights reserved.
Select Table Styles
• A Table Style is a combination of formatting
options, including color combinations, based on
theme colors.
• The Table Styles gallery is found on the Table
Tools Design tab in the Table Styles group.
THE PROFESSIONAL APPROACH SERIES
© 2008 The McGraw-Hill Companies, Inc. All rights reserved.
Apply Table Style Options
• Header Row—emphasizes the first row of the
table
• Total Row—emphasizes the last row of the table
• Banded Rows—alternating striped rows
• First Column—emphasizes the first column of
the table
• Last Column—emphasizes the last column of
the table
• Banded Column—alternating striped columns
THE PROFESSIONAL APPROACH SERIES
© 2008 The McGraw-Hill Companies, Inc. All rights reserved.
Lesson 5
2
Creating Tables
M
Drawing a Table
© 2008 The McGraw-Hill Companies, Inc. All rights reserved.
I
C
R
O
S
O
F
T
®
Use Pencil Pointer to Draw a Table
• From the Insert tab, in the Tables group, click the
Table button, and choose Draw Table.
• Drag the Pencil pointer diagonally down and
across to create a rectangle the approximate
size of the table’s outside border.
• Draw horizontal and vertical
lines within the table to
divide it into columns
and rows.
THE PROFESSIONAL APPROACH SERIES
© 2008 The McGraw-Hill Companies, Inc. All rights reserved.
Change Table Text Direction
• From the Table Tools
Layout tab, in the
Alignment group, select
the Text Direction button.
• From the Home tab, in the
Paragraph group, select
the Text Direction button.
THE PROFESSIONAL APPROACH SERIES
© 2008 The McGraw-Hill Companies, Inc. All rights reserved.
Apply Shading and Borders
• Applying shading
involves two steps:
– First, select the cells
you want to shade.
– Second, click the
Shading button and
choose the shading
you wish to apply.
THE PROFESSIONAL APPROACH SERIES
• Applying table borders
is a three-step process:
– First, select the cells that
need a border.
– Second, select the
border style, width, and
color you want.
– Third, click the Borders
button and choose an
option from the dropdown list.
© 2008 The McGraw-Hill Companies, Inc. All rights reserved.
Change Border and Shading Colors
• Select any table cell then from the Table Tools
Design tab, in the Draw Borders group, click
Pen Style, choose a style and
other pen options.
– Right-click in the table and choose
Select Table.
– Click the drop-down list for the Borders
button, and choose Inside Borders,
Outside Borders, or All Borders
• To apply shading, select the cells
then use the Shading button to
choose an appropriate color.
THE PROFESSIONAL APPROACH SERIES
© 2008 The McGraw-Hill Companies, Inc. All rights reserved.
Erase Cell Borders
• From the Table Tools Design tab, in the Draw
Borders group, choose the Eraser.
• Click each of the borders between cells that you
want to remove. As you click each border, it
disappears.
• Press <Esc> to turn off the Eraser.
THE PROFESSIONAL APPROACH SERIES
© 2008 The McGraw-Hill Companies, Inc. All rights reserved.
Lesson 5
3
Creating Tables
M
I
C
R
O
S
Modifying Table Structure
© 2008 The McGraw-Hill Companies, Inc. All rights reserved.
O
F
T
®
Insert and Delete Rows and Columns
• From the Table Tools
Layout tab, in the Rows
& Columns group,
choose an option.
• Right-click a cell in the
table and use commands
on the short-cut menu.
• If you are in the last cell
of the table, press <Tab>
to add a row below.
THE PROFESSIONAL APPROACH SERIES
© 2008 The McGraw-Hill Companies, Inc. All rights reserved.
Merge and Split Cells
• Merge Cells
– Remove cell borders
using the Eraser.
– Use the Merge Cells
button on the Table
Tools Layout tab in the
Merge group.
– Right-click the
selected cells and
choose Merge Cells
from the short-cut
menu.
THE PROFESSIONAL APPROACH SERIES
• Split Cells
– Draw a line through
them with the pencil
pointer.
– Use the Split Cells
button on the Table
Tools Layout tab in the
Merge group.
– Right-click the cell and
choosing Split Cells
from the short-cut
menu.
© 2008 The McGraw-Hill Companies, Inc. All rights reserved.
Apply a Diagonal Border
• Position the pencil
tool near, but not
touching, one corner
of a cell then draw a
diagonal line across
to the opposite
corner.
THE PROFESSIONAL APPROACH SERIES
© 2008 The McGraw-Hill Companies, Inc. All rights reserved.
Distribute Column Width
and Row Height
• From the Table Tools Layout tab, in the Cell size
group, use the Distribute Columns button to
adjust several columns to be the same width.
• The Distribute Rows button adjusts several rows
to be the same height.
THE PROFESSIONAL APPROACH SERIES
© 2008 The McGraw-Hill Companies, Inc. All rights reserved.
Lesson 5
4
Creating Tables
M
I
C
R
O
S
O
Aligning Text and Numbers
© 2008 The McGraw-Hill Companies, Inc. All rights reserved.
F
T
®
Align Text and Numbers Horizontally
• Text is aligned horizontally within cells in the
same manner that you align text in other
PowerPoint objects.
– Use the alignment buttons on the Home tab, in the
Paragraph group.
– Right-click to access the floating font group.
THE PROFESSIONAL APPROACH SERIES
© 2008 The McGraw-Hill Companies, Inc. All rights reserved.
Change the Vertical Position
of Text in a Cell
• From the Tables Tools Layout tab, in the
Alignment group, click one of these buttons:
– Align Top
– Center Vertically
– Align Bottom
THE PROFESSIONAL APPROACH SERIES
© 2008 The McGraw-Hill Companies, Inc. All rights reserved.
Use Margin Settings to Adjust
the Position of Text in a Cell
• Do not use the
<Spacebar> to indent
text for horizontal
alignment in a cell.
• For precise control,
use the cell’s margin
settings, combined
with horizontal and
vertical alignment.
THE PROFESSIONAL APPROACH SERIES
© 2008 The McGraw-Hill Companies, Inc. All rights reserved.
Resize a Table
• To resize the entire table, drag one of the sizing
handles.
• When dragging the sizing handles, be sure the
pointer is not the pointer used for changing
column width or row height.
THE PROFESSIONAL APPROACH SERIES
© 2008 The McGraw-Hill Companies, Inc. All rights reserved.
Lesson 5
5
Creating Tables
M
I
Enhancing the Table
© 2008 The McGraw-Hill Companies, Inc. All rights reserved.
C
R
O
S
O
F
T
®
Apply and Modify a Cell Bevel Effect
• The Cell Bevel effect is
a dimensional effect
that makes cells look
raised and rounded or
pressed in.
– The Cell Bevel effect is
on the Table Tools
Design tab, in the Table
Styles group, under the
Effects button.
THE PROFESSIONAL APPROACH SERIES
© 2008 The McGraw-Hill Companies, Inc. All rights reserved.
Apply and Modify a Shadow Effect
• The Shadow effect can be applied from the
Table Tools Design tab, in the Table Styles
group, under the Effects Button.
– Transparency—controls how much of the background
colors shows through the object.
– Size—the dimension of the shadow in relationship to
the picture size (it must be over 100% to be visible).
– Blur—affects the soft edge of the shadow.
– Angle—controls the direction of the shadow (as
though you were shining a light on the object).
– Distance—controls the distance between the object
and the shadow.
THE PROFESSIONAL APPROACH SERIES
© 2008 The McGraw-Hill Companies, Inc. All rights reserved.
Apply and Modify a Reflection Effect
• The Reflection effect
makes the table appear
to be reflecting on a
body of water or a
mirror.
– The Reflection effect is
found on the Table Tools
Design tab, in the Table
Styles group, under the
Effects button.
THE PROFESSIONAL APPROACH SERIES
© 2008 The McGraw-Hill Companies, Inc. All rights reserved.
Insert a Picture and Apply
Gradient Shading
• Select one cell, a selection of cells, or an entire table.
• To apply picture shading:
– From the Table Tools Design tab, in the Table Styles group, click
the Shading button and choose Picture.
– Locate your file and double-click on the filename to insert the
picture.
• To apply gradient shading:
– From the Table Tools Design tab, in the Table Styles group, click
the Shading button and choose Gradient.
– Choose from Light Variations or Dark Variations as appropriate
to make the table easier to read and the data easier to interpret.
THE PROFESSIONAL APPROACH SERIES
© 2008 The McGraw-Hill Companies, Inc. All rights reserved.
Lesson 5
6
Creating Tables
M
I
C
R
O
Creating a Tabbed Table
© 2008 The McGraw-Hill Companies, Inc. All rights reserved.
S
O
F
T
®
Set and Edit Tabs
• To set your own tabs,
click to choose the Tab
Type you need:
–
–
–
–
Left align
Center
Right align
Decimal align
• Click the ruler where you
want to set a tab.
THE PROFESSIONAL APPROACH SERIES
© 2008 The McGraw-Hill Companies, Inc. All rights reserved.
Create a Tabbed Table
• Set a series of tabs
within a text box.
– Plan for spacing
– Plan for alignment
• Enter text using the
set tabs.
THE PROFESSIONAL APPROACH SERIES
© 2008 The McGraw-Hill Companies, Inc. All rights reserved.
Creating Tables
M
I
Lesson 5 Summary
© 2008 The McGraw-Hill Companies, Inc. All rights reserved.
C
R
O
S
O
F
T
®
Lesson 5 Summary—1
• Tables offer a convenient way to quickly organize
material on a slide.
• Use the Insert table button to insert a table or “draw” a
table directly on a slide by using the Draw Table button.
• Tabbed tables are another effective way to present
information.
• Before you can apply special formatting to table cells,
you must first select those cells. You can select
individual cells, groups of cells, or the entire table.
• Use the buttons on the Table Tools Design tab, in the
Table Styles group, to apply fill effects and border effects
to individual cells, a group of cells, or the entire table.
THE PROFESSIONAL APPROACH SERIES
© 2008 The McGraw-Hill Companies, Inc. All rights reserved.
Lesson 5 Summary—2
• Change the overall size of a table by dragging one of its
sizing handles with a two-pointed arrow.
• Change the width of a column by dragging or doubleclicking its border. Change the height of a row by
dragging its border.
• Rows and columns can be easily inserted or deleted as
you develop a table.
• While keying text in a table, a quick way to insert a new
row at the bottom is to press when you reach the last
table cell.
THE PROFESSIONAL APPROACH SERIES
© 2008 The McGraw-Hill Companies, Inc. All rights reserved.
Lesson 5 Summary—3
• Occasionally, you might want one row or column to have
more or fewer cells than the others. You can make this
happen by merging a group of cells or splitting an
individual cell into two cells.
• A diagonal line can be added to a cell to make it appear
to be split into two cells.
• Before applying a border to cells or the entire table,
choose the border style, border width, and border color
from the Table Tools Design tab. Then select cells and
choose an option from the Borders button drop-down list
or the Pencil Pointer to apply.
THE PROFESSIONAL APPROACH SERIES
© 2008 The McGraw-Hill Companies, Inc. All rights reserved.
Lesson 5 Summary—4
• Use the text alignment buttons on the Home tab in the
Paragraph group to control the horizontal position of text
in a cell.
• Use the Align Top, Center Vertically, and Align Bottom
buttons on the Table Tools Layout tab in the Alignment
group to control the vertical position of text within a cell.
• To fine-tune the horizontal or vertical position of text,
change a cell’s margin settings by using the Cell Margins
button on the Table Tools Layout tab in the Alignment
group.
• Add and modify 3-D effects by selecting the table and
clicking the Effects button on the Table Tools Design tab.
THE PROFESSIONAL APPROACH SERIES
© 2008 The McGraw-Hill Companies, Inc. All rights reserved.
Lesson 5 Summary—5
• Click the Tab Type button on the left edge of the
ruler to change the type of tab.
– The button cycles through four tab types: left-aligned,
centered, right-aligned, and decimal.
• Create a tabbed table by using a text box and
setting tabs to control how the information is
indented. Remove tabs or move tabs as needed
by clicking and dragging.
THE PROFESSIONAL APPROACH SERIES
© 2008 The McGraw-Hill Companies, Inc. All rights reserved.