SEO / PPC in 2014 - Crawford and O'Brien LLC

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Transcript SEO / PPC in 2014 - Crawford and O'Brien LLC

SEO / PPC in 2014
Charles Crawford
Who Am I
• Background - 2010
• Affiliate Marketing
• Crawford and O’Brien
Goals
• Background and Understanding
• Implementation
• You’ll Never Get Screwed
Google’s Goal
• Provide the best experience for the user
(sites with relevant information)
Old SEO
• Keyword stuffing
• Meta tags
• Spammy backlinks
Search Engine Optimization
Google’s Ranking Algorithm 2012-2014
On-Page SEO
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Title Tag
Meta Description
Authorship
Keyword Research – Google Planner
http://blog.kissmetrics.com/google-authorship/
Great Content
• Google’s Goal is is to provide users the best
experience. So have great content that’s
conversational and engaging.
• No duplicate content.
• InfoGraphics
• Images
• Videos
Keywords in Your Content
• You need to include the keywords you are
trying to rank for in your content…but don’t
keyword stuff. Make it conversational.
• Google loves lots of text. If you want to rank
include 1000+ words, an image, a video and
more. Your chances of ranking are higher than
someone with only 500 words of only text.
Other On-Page Factors
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User Experience (people scrolling & clicking)
Load Speed (under 1 second)
Responsive Design
No Duplicate Images / Content
Internal Linking (linking pages within your site
to other pages within your website)
• Have recommended content after every post
Off-Page Factors
• Number of High Authority Sites Linking to Your
Website (backlinks)
• Social Signals (Facebook likes, Google+,
Tweets, Pins, Social Bookmarks)
• These 2 Factors are Over 60% of SEO!
Great Sites to Get Links From
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Gawker
Deadspin
Lifehacker
Gizmodo
Buzzfeed (anyone can submit)
Academia.edu
iReporter CNN
Yahoo Voices
Wikipedia Hack
• Fixing Broken Links – amazing link juice
• http://www.quicksprout.com/2014/01/29/7essential-ingredients-every-seo-campaignneeds/
Rank Yelp Listings
How?
• Backlinks
• Where do you get them?
• Fiverr – buy social bookmarking links and
pyramids.
• How do you check backlinks?
• Ahrefs.com
• Opensiteexplorer.com
• Alexa Toolbar for Chrome
Fiverr
Rank Videos
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Every business should be on Youtube
Buy Fiverr backlinks to rank
Buy real views for $.02
Buy comments, likes, views from Fiverr after
one week.
• Google loves video and it has high CTR
This is Me!
But…
• Don’t send Fiverr links to your website. Just
send links to authority sites like Youtube, Yelp,
Linkedin, Facebook, Twitter. Why? Even if the
links are low quality, it won’t affect the
authority of Youtube (for example). But
sending a bunch of low quality links to your
main site would decrease your rank.
Guest Blogging
• Guest blogging is one of the most powerful
methods for getting traffic and links
• Get into the sites mentioned earlier +
relevant blogs in your industry
• Ex. This blog is perfect for a
dentisthttp://www.dentistryiq.com/articles/2
013/09/why-every-dentist-should-participatein-dentistry-from-the-heart.html
InfoGraphics
• Create an InfoGraphic – which is a big image that
is educational and entertaining
• People love sharing them on social sites and they
generate links.
• http://crawfordandobrien.com/phoenixreputation-management/
• Order infographics on fiverr.com at
• http://fiverr.com/vlad22/send-you-theinfographics-mega-pack-with-80-very-highquality-and-completely-editable-infographicsthat-pros-use
Example of an InfoGraphic
InfoGraphic Directories
• http://www.quicksprout.com/2012/06/11/5ways-to-get-your-infographic-to-go-viral/
• Daily InfoGraphics
• Cool InfoGraphics
• Love InfoGraphics
• If these sites publish your infographic, you get
a high quality link to your website!
Anchor Text
• Anchor text is the words that someone
actually clicks when they click a link.
• Ex. Click Here is anchor text.
• http://crawfordandobrien.com can be anchor
text.
• You need to diversify your anchor text and not
stuff your anchor text with all your keywords
Use Ahrefs.com
Mix Up Your Anchor Text
• 30% of your anchor text should be
conversational!
• 20% should be your company name
• 10% keywords you want to rank for
• 10% variations of keywords to rank for
• 10% should be “click here” or “learn more”
• 10% should be http://yourdomain.com
• 10% should be the title of your page
Quick Action Plan for Fast Rankings
• Keyword Research (Keyword Planner – need to create a
Google Adwords account)
• Create a 2000 word blog post. Hire someone on
Elance.com
• Order an infographic on Fiverr.com
• Publish the infographic to 50+ directories – hire
someone on fiverr to do this.
• Share it to PDF and slide sharing sites – hire someone
on fiverr to do this.
• Order a white board animation video on fiverr
• Share the post on Twitter, FB, Pinterest, Google+
Future of SEO
• Voice search – people search with their voice.
That’s why conversation anchor text is so
important.
• User experience. That’s Google’s goal. Give them
what they want. Fast loading sites. Great content.
Responsive. Get people to click through multiple
pages on your site.
• Google+ Author Rank.
• Make it look natural – if you look like spam, you
are.
• These are responses from SEO millionaires.
Pay Per Click (PPC)
• Google Adwords – largest ad network
• Does it still work? Yes. But the cost-per-clicks
CPCs are increasing, making SEO more
valuable today than ever before.
• It’s based on supply / demand in an auction
system.
• One Hack – don’t bid even numbers. Bid .02
since higher than even numbers.
Google’s New Ad Layout
How to Determine ROI
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Estimate Search Volume for your keywords
Get CPC estimates for that volume
Add up the cost
Determine your conversion rate
What’s your profit per conversion?
Revenue – cost = profit.
Example
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“Las Vegas dentist”
Volume 1300 searches / mo
You could get a 3% click-through-rate (CTR)
.03 x 1300 = 39 clicks
Ave CPC = $10 per click
39 clicks x $10 = $390
Conversions on 39 clicks? 2 patients
Revenue? $1000.
Profit? $610
Worth it? Yes.
PPC in 2014
• Standard CPC traffic is increasing, but it still
works. But, the future is Native Advertising.
Have you seen a Facebook newsfeed ad
before? That’s native advertising. It works
wonders, and that’s what’s working best now.
Same with Youtube ads. I highly recommend
any business owner do Youtube ads.
Retargeting / Remarketing
• This is showing ads to people who have
previously visited your website. Have you
noticed that most of the ads you see are from
sites you’ve recently visited? That’s
retargeting in action.
• It’s powerful
• The CPCs are low relative to other platforms
• It’s incredibly targeted, so the ROI is high
Internet Marketing Strategies for 2014
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SEO – Content Marketing
Google Adwords (Search and or Display)
Retargeting
Native Advertising (FB Newsfeed Ads, Twitter
Ads, Pinterest Promoted Posts, Stumbledupon
Ads)
Let’s Get in Touch
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Charles Crawford
[email protected]
http://CrawfordandOBrien.com
http://Facebook.com/kingccrawford
• Bonus:
• http://crawfordandobrien.com/mindmap