Transcript Ch.8 and 9

Chapter 8
Sharing the road with Others
Visually Challenged Persons
Under New Jersey law, blind
persons using a cane, or
accompanied by a guide dog,
or a guide dog instructor
engaged in teaching a dog to
be a guide to the blind,
always have the right of way
when crossing any highway
or intersection
Bicycles, Skateboards and Rollerblades/
In-line Skates
Under New Jersey law, bike
riders have the same rights
and responsibilities as
moving motor vehicles.
All bicycles ridden after
dark must have front and
rear reflector lights that can
be seen from safe
Bicycles, Skateboards and Rollerblades/
In-line Skates
Motorists signaling a
right turn must yield
to bicyclists,
skateboarders and
in-line skaters moving
through an
To turn left, a bicyclist,
skateboarder or in-line
skater may choose to use
traffic lanes to turn as a
vehicle would. Motorists
should be aware that a
bicyclist, skateboarder or
in-line skater may ride on
the right edge of the turn
The same laws governing other motor vehicles
govern motorcycles.
Motorized bicycles or mopeds are low-speed,
two-wheeled vehicles with pedals intended
for limited use on public roadways. Moped
drivers may not exceed 25 mph, must
follow all traffic signs and signals, and drive
on the right side of the road with the flow of
The No-Zone Principal
Avoid the area around trucks where cars
disappear into blind spots.
Do not move so closely to a truck that the
driver’s ability to stop or maneuver
effectively is restricted.
The potential for a collision is increased for
motorists driving in a no-zone.
Chapter 9
Vehicle Information
New Jersey motorists must title and register each
vehicle before legally driving on public roads.
Registration documents must always be available
to show to law enforcement, and should be stored
in the vehicle or with the driver.
New state residents are required to title and
register each vehicle within 60 days of moving
into New Jersey. If an out-of-state registration
expires before 60 days, new state residents are
required to title and register the vehicle before the
out-of-state registration expires.
General Registration Information
Passenger vehicle and light truck owners will receive
two decals with the registration renewal, which must be
displayed in the upper right corner on the vehicle’s front
and rear license plates.
Motorists must be at least 17 years old to register a
vehicle in New Jersey.
The fine for driving without a current registration
document is $173.
For passenger vehicles,
attach one plate to the
front bumper and one to
the rear of the vehicle, at
least 12 inches from the
ground, but no more than
48 inches.
The rear plate should be lit
at night and be visible
from 50 feet.
License Plates
Using license plate holders that obscure any
lettering on the license plate is a violation that
could result in a fine of up to $200.
Vehicle Inspection
All gasoline-fueled passenger vehicles,
including motorcycles and trucks,
manufactured in 2000 or later, do not
require inspection for four years after
brand-new original purchase.
 After the initial four-year inspection cycle,
these vehicles must be inspected every two
Vehicle Inspection
Motorists whose vehicles
pass inspection will
receive an inspection
Motorists whose vehicles do
not pass inspection will
have until the end of the
next month to make
necessary repairs and
return for re-inspection at
a state or private
inspection facility.
What is Inspected?
Window Glazing
Brakes and Brake
Windshield Wipers
Headlights, Taillights,
Parking Lights, and
Turn Signals
Seat Belts
Tires and Wheel
Emission Test
A New Jersey Insurance Identification Card will be
provided by
the insurance company for every vehicle insured
under the policy.
This card should remain in the vehicle. Show it
before inspection, at an accident scene, if stopped
for a traffic violation or for a roadside spot check
performed by law enforcement.
Driving an uninsured vehicle can result in fines,
community service, license suspension, and
insurance surcharges.
Basic Types of Coverage
PIP – Personal Injury
Protection - is your
medical coverage for
injuries you (and others)
suffer in an auto accident.
Liability - coverage pays
others for damages from
an auto accident that you
Collision - Pays for
damage to your vehicle as
the result of a collision
with another car or other
Uninsured Motorist - Pays
you for property damage
or bodily injury if you are in
an auto accident caused
by an uninsured motorist.
Driver Safety-
Safety should be every motorist’ goal
Every Motorist…………
has the responsibility in keeping NJ
roadways safe.
Road signs and traffic signals…..
help motorists remain controlled and
directed on roads.
Road Signs
Regulatory Signs
Signs and Signals that regulate traffic
speed and movement
They are generally Rectangular in shape
and have a Black legend and border on a
White background
4 Special Regulatory Signs
Warning Signs
Are for road conditions
that need specific
Are Yellow and
shaped like a
Diamond with a Black
symbol or word
Guidance Signs
Identify destinations
and routes for
Traffic Lights
Emergency Situations
Emergency Stops
Turn on the “Hazard
Put a flare or a
warning sign behind
the car and 300 feet
back (about 120
Raise the hood
Put a “white flag” on
the car
Car Failure
No matter how well you take care of your
car, there is still a chance of car failure.
Car Failure
Brake failure – shift to
a lower gear and
pump brake pedal
hard and fast. If not,
use parking brake.
Wiper failure – roll
down window, put
your head out to see,
and pull over.
Tire blowout – hold
steering wheel firmly
and keep car going
straight. Slow down
Car Accidents
choices to
avoid a
Stop Quickly
Speed Up
Turn Quickly
Reporting an Accident
New Jersey law requires that you notify the police
of an accident where there is injury, death, or car
or property damage.
What to do in case of an accident
Notify authorities
Gather information
Date, time, and location of
Name of other driver
Address of other driver
Name and address of
Name and department of
investigating officer
Car license plate number
Driver license number
Name and address of
other driver's insurance
Name and address of
injured person
Circumstances of
accident: weather,
condition of road, other