Crash Course: Microsoft PowerPoint Lunch and Learn
Download
Report
Transcript Crash Course: Microsoft PowerPoint Lunch and Learn
Presenter notes:
This Microsoft PowerPoint 2010 Presentation is a
prepackaged solution for basic PowerPoint 2010
training.
You may use the presentation as-is or customize it.
Remove this slide before presenting the slideshow.
Tips for maximizing
Microsoft PowerPoint 2010
New features
in PowerPoint 2010
The File tab is new to 2010’s ribbon.
Save versions of a presentation.
Organize slides into sections.
Merge and compare presentations.
Use PowerPoint Web Apps to work on a
presentation from anywhere.
Embed and work on a video from inside
PowerPoint.
Turn a presentation into a video.
Using speaker notes
Never forget important
information, again!
Display slides and
notes simultaneously.
Access Notes Page view
from the View tab;
click Notes Pages in the
Presentation Views
group.
Modifying design templates
Tweak presentation designs
to suit your needs.
Use the Slide Design pane to
customize slides.
Access pre-defined themes
on the Design tab.
About the Slide Master
Customize numerous
slides simultaneously.
Select Slide Master in
the Master Views group
of the View tab to edit
the master slides.
Formatting text and bullets
To change text elements:
Select the text in question
Click the Home tab
Apply attributes from the Font group
To change bullet elements:
Highlight the list
Click the Home tab
Choose the Bullets or Numbering option
from the Paragraph group on the
Home tab
Make these changes on the Master Slide
to update all the slides in
your presentation.
Stacking and grouping
Group objects together to move numerous images as a
single unit.
Change stacked order to send images to the
background or foreground.
Inserting images
A picture is worth a
thousand words.
Use images sparingly to
maximize their effect.
Use options in the Images
group to insert graphic
files.
Access Shapes in the
Illustrations group on the
Insert tab.
Inserting video
Use video to liven things up.
Use videos sparingly to maximize their effect.
To add video clips, click the Insert tab. Then, click
the Video option in the Media group.
Control how a video clip is played.
Working with videos
PowerPoint supports several video
clip options:
Loop until stopped
Rewind movie when done
Hide during show
Play full screen
Insert animated clips from the
Video option in the Media tab.
Inserting tables
Use tables to display tabular data.
Limit the amount of information
presented in a slide table.
Insert tables using the Table option
in the Tables group on the Insert tab.
Inserting Excel data
Use Excel data and charts to
provide visual cues.
Insert Excel data in
PowerPoint:
Press the Insert tab
Click Insert Object in the
Text group
Click Create From File
Locate the worksheet to use
Creating charts
Charts can be used to diagram processes and more.
Click Chart in the Illustrations group on the Insert
tab.
For more options, use SmartArt in the Illustrations
group:
Cycle Diagrams
Relationship Diagrams
Process Diagrams
Matrix Diagrams
DNS hierarchy
.edu
.com
cnet
microsoft
wikipedia
Animations and transitions
Energize presentations using animations and
transitions.
Animation helps focus audience attention on
specific items.
Use transitions to keep your audience focused
when switching gears a bit.
Animations and transitions
Use animations to draw attention to a specific
element.
Specify how slides advance using transitions.
Use animations and transitions sparingly to
maximize their effect.
Animations and transitions
Access animation effects
from the Animation gallery:
Entrance
Emphasis
Exit
Motion Paths
Editing slide timing
Click a slide’s thumbnail and then apply
timing options from the Animations tab.
PowerPoint’s Rehearsal feature lets you
time slides to change automatically at
specific intervals
Printing presentations
PowerPoint offers a number of
printing options:
Slides
Notes Pages
Outline
Save paper: Print multiple
slides on a single sheet.
Print a notes version for
yourself.
Web presentations
Make presentations
available to Web users.
Publish to the Web by
clicking the File tab and
choose Save & Send.
Presentations to go
PowerPoint’s Package
Presentation For CD saves your
complete slide show to CD.
Eliminate issues with fonts and
other missing elements.
Access Package Presentation
For CD option by clicking the
File tab and choosing Save &
Send.
Collaboration features
Use PowerPoint’s reviewing features to leverage
additional collaboration capabilities.
Access the Reviewing features by selecting the Review
tab.
The Do’s of success
Do be frugal: Don't be text heavy.
Do be professional: Don't use cheesy clip
art.
Do use discretion: Don’t overuse
transitions and effects.
Do be consistent: Don’t overuse different
fonts and colors.
Do…
Do ensure presentation locations are properly
equipped.
Do use speaker notes when possible.
Do use the presentation as a message delivery
mechanism, not as a crutch.
Do be prepared for the inevitable.
Do…
Provide the audience with printed slides.
Rehearse your presentation for length and
content.
Don’t permit the presentation to control the
presentation.
Do allow your audience time to interact and
enjoy your presentation.
Final steps
Questions?
Thanks for attending.
Don’t forget your handout.